Dropbox
Software and apps · All services
The answer
Dropbox's own pages say you can cancel online and by mail.
After you cancel, per the provider: Your account changes to Dropbox Basic at the end of your current billing cycle and you won't be charged again. Billed through Apple, Google or another company? Per the provider: If you bought on a mobile device, cancel through that device's app store.
Not stated in the pages we read: a cancellation fee, a pause or downgrade option. See the ledger.
Ways to cancel
- OnlineDescribed on the official page
- AppNot stated
- PhoneNot stated
- MailDescribed on the official page
- In personNot stated
A tick means the provider’s page describes that way. A dash means the pages we read do not say, which is not the same as “not possible”.
What would you like to do?
Cancel online
Official sources reviewed: . These instructions may vary by plan, billing provider, location, and contract. Check the linked sources before acting. ExitTerms does not submit cancellation requests or provide legal advice.
Online
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar in the bottom-left corner, then Manage account.
- Click Cancel plan at the bottom of the page.
- Select a reason, then follow the prompts. An email confirms the cancellation.
Provider’s page for this step (dropbox.com)
By mail
- The page says you can cancel by physical mail if you cannot cancel online.
- The page lists what to include: your name, account email and payment details.
- US, Canada and Mexico: send it to the address shown.
The page says mail takes longer than cancelling online.
What it costs to leave
- Fee to cancelNot statedThe pages we read do not mention one. We do not read silence as “no fee”.
- Notice neededNo notice periodThe provider's page states: You can cancel your subscription at any time.
- Takes effectEnd of billing periodThe provider's page states: Your account changes to Dropbox Basic at the end of your current billing cycle and you won't be charged again.
- Refunds and other feesRefunds: not refundable in most casesThe provider's page states: In most cases, payments for Dropbox and Dropbox Dash subscriptions and team member licenses aren’t refundable.
- What you give upSee note
- After you cancel you drop to Dropbox Basic (2 GB). If the account stays over the limit, Dropbox may delete files you own to bring it below the limit.
- Pause or downgradeNot statedNo pause or downgrade option found in the pages we read.
- Billed by someone elseCancel with that billerThe provider's page states: If you bought on a mobile device, cancel through that device's app store.
- Offers in the cancel flowNone recordedOffers vary by person, so we do not promise one.
5 stated by the provider2 not stated1 none recorded
Quick answers
- How do I cancel Dropbox?
- The provider's published instructions describe cancelling online and by mail. First steps: Log in to dropbox.com. Click your avatar in the bottom-left corner, then Manage account. Click Cancel plan at the bottom of the page. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026. Plans, billing providers, locations and contracts can differ; check the linked sources before acting.
- When does cancelling Dropbox take effect?
- The provider's published policy states: Your account changes to Dropbox Basic at the end of your current billing cycle and you won't be charged again. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
- Do I have to give notice to cancel Dropbox?
- The provider's published policy states: You can cancel your subscription at any time. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
- What if Dropbox is billed through Apple, Google or another company?
- The provider's published policy states: If you bought on a mobile device, cancel through that device's app store. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
Scope of this entry
- Country
- United States. No state-specific terms recorded.
- Plans
- Plans listed on the provider’s own pages
- Billing channel
- Billed directly by Dropbox. Plans billed through Apple, Google, a carrier or another company follow that biller’s rules.
- Terms version
- Provider’s terms as read on the date shown. The provider did not state a version or effective date on the pages we read.
Sources
Links go to the provider’s own pages. We do not copy those pages. If a link has moved or changed, tell us.