ExitTerms
  1. Search (done)
  2. Answer
  3. Next step

Microsoft 365

Software and apps · All services

The answer

Microsoft 365's own pages say you can cancel online.

After you cancel, per the provider: If you turn off recurring billing you can keep using the subscription until the expiry date. Billed through Apple, Google or another company? Per the provider: Apple App Store and Google Play purchases are cancelled with those stores; third-party retailers manage their own.

Not stated in the pages we read: a cancellation fee, a notice period, a pause or downgrade option. See the ledger.

· Scope: plan, country, billing

Ways to cancel

  • OnlineDescribed on the official page
  • AppNot stated
  • PhoneNot stated
  • MailNot stated
  • In personNot stated

A tick means the provider’s page describes that way. A dash means the pages we read do not say, which is not the same as “not possible”.

What would you like to do?

Cancel online

Official sources reviewed: . These instructions may vary by plan, billing provider, location, and contract. Check the linked sources before acting. ExitTerms does not submit cancellation requests or provide legal advice.

  1. Open your Microsoft account services page and sign in with the account used to purchase the subscription.
  2. Select Cancel subscription (the page says it might read Upgrade or Cancel).
  3. Review the page, then select the option to cancel when asked.

Provider’s page for this step (account.microsoft.com)

What it costs to leave

  • Fee to cancelNot statedThe pages we read do not mention one. We do not read silence as “no fee”.
  • Notice neededNot statedNo notice period is stated in the pages we read. We do not read silence as “any time”.
  • Takes effectEnd of billing periodThe provider's page states: If you turn off recurring billing you can keep using the subscription until the expiry date.
  • Refunds and other feesRefunds: not all cancellations are refundedThe provider's page states: Not all cancellations will result in a refund. To check refund eligibility on a Microsoft 365 subscription you purchased from Microsoft, you will need to cancel it first.
  • What you give upSee note
    • Storage falls back to 5GB of cloud storage (plus 15GB for Outlook.com) after cancelling; sharing members are reduced too. After 6 months, OneDrive files may be deleted if over the allowance.
  • Pause or downgradeNot statedNo pause or downgrade option found in the pages we read.
  • Billed by someone elseCancel with that billerThe provider's page states: Apple App Store and Google Play purchases are cancelled with those stores; third-party retailers manage their own.
  • Offers in the cancel flowNone recordedOffers vary by person, so we do not promise one.

4 stated by the provider3 not stated1 none recorded

Quick answers

How do I cancel Microsoft 365?
The provider's published instructions describe cancelling online. First steps: Open your Microsoft account services page and sign in with the account used to purchase the subscription. Select Cancel subscription (the page says it might read Upgrade or Cancel). Review the page, then select the option to cancel when asked. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026. Plans, billing providers, locations and contracts can differ; check the linked sources before acting.
When does cancelling Microsoft 365 take effect?
The provider's published policy states: If you turn off recurring billing you can keep using the subscription until the expiry date. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
What if Microsoft 365 is billed through Apple, Google or another company?
The provider's published policy states: Apple App Store and Google Play purchases are cancelled with those stores; third-party retailers manage their own. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.

Scope of this entry

Country
United States. No state-specific terms recorded.
Plans
Plans listed on the provider’s own pages
Billing channel
Billed directly by Microsoft 365. Plans billed through Apple, Google, a carrier or another company follow that biller’s rules.
Terms version
Provider’s terms as read on the date shown. The provider did not state a version or effective date on the pages we read.

Sources

Links go to the provider’s own pages. We do not copy those pages. If a link has moved or changed, tell us.

Other services