The New York Times
News · All services
The answer
The New York Times's own pages say you can cancel online and by phone.
After you cancel, per the provider: The cancellation becomes effective at the end of your current billing period. Cancelling inside a free trial takes effect immediately. Billed through Apple, Google or another company? Per the provider: If you subscribed through Google Play or iOS, contact the third party to cancel.
Not stated in the pages we read: a cancellation fee, a pause or downgrade option. See the ledger.
Ways to cancel
- OnlineDescribed on the official page
- AppNot stated
- PhoneDescribed on the official page
- MailNot stated
- In personNot stated
A tick means the provider’s page describes that way. A dash means the pages we read do not say, which is not the same as “not possible”.
What would you like to do?
Cancel online
Official sources reviewed: . These instructions may vary by plan, billing provider, location, and contract. Check the linked sources before acting. ExitTerms does not submit cancellation requests or provide legal advice.
Online
- Go to your New York Times account and open Subscription Overview.
- In the Manage Subscription section select Cancel your Subscription and follow the instructions.
The help article also offers chat with a Customer Care Advocate. Digital subscriptions to The Athletic may be billed and cancelled separately.
Provider’s page for this step (nytimes.com)
By phone or chat
- Call 866-273-3612 if you are in the U.S.
- The help article and the Terms of Sale list different call hours, so check the official page for current hours.
What it costs to leave
- Fee to cancelNot statedThe pages we read do not mention one. We do not read silence as “no fee”.
- Notice neededBefore the term endsThe provider's page states: In order to avoid future charges, you must cancel your subscription prior to the end of your current subscription period.
- Takes effectEnd of billing periodThe provider's page states: The cancellation becomes effective at the end of your current billing period. Cancelling inside a free trial takes effect immediately.
- Refunds and other feesCancel before the period ends to avoid the next charge; a refund may applyThe provider's page states: If you cancel prior to the deadline, you will not be charged or you will be eligible to receive a refund for additional charges.
- Refunds and other feesCancelling The New York Times does not cancel The AthleticThe provider's page states: Please note that canceling your New York Times subscription does not automatically cancel your subscription to The Athletic.
- What you give upNot statedNothing recorded in the pages we read.
- Pause or downgradeNot statedNo pause or downgrade option found in the pages we read.
- Billed by someone elseCancel with that billerThe provider's page states: If you subscribed through Google Play or iOS, contact the third party to cancel.
- Offers in the cancel flowNone recordedOffers vary by person, so we do not promise one.
5 stated by the provider3 not stated1 none recorded
Quick answers
- How do I cancel The New York Times?
- The provider's published instructions describe cancelling online and by phone. First steps: Go to your New York Times account and open Subscription Overview. In the Manage Subscription section select Cancel your Subscription and follow the instructions. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026. Plans, billing providers, locations and contracts can differ; check the linked sources before acting.
- When does cancelling The New York Times take effect?
- The provider's published policy states: The cancellation becomes effective at the end of your current billing period. Cancelling inside a free trial takes effect immediately. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
- Do I have to give notice to cancel The New York Times?
- The provider's published policy states: In order to avoid future charges, you must cancel your subscription prior to the end of your current subscription period. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
- What if The New York Times is billed through Apple, Google or another company?
- The provider's published policy states: If you subscribed through Google Play or iOS, contact the third party to cancel. Official sources reviewed: Oct 27, 2026.
Scope of this entry
- Country
- United States. No state-specific terms recorded.
- Plans
- Plans listed on the provider’s own pages
- Billing channel
- Billed directly by The New York Times. Plans billed through Apple, Google, a carrier or another company follow that biller’s rules.
- Terms version
- Provider’s terms as read on the date shown. The provider did not state a version or effective date on the pages we read.
Sources
Links go to the provider’s own pages. We do not copy those pages. If a link has moved or changed, tell us.