ExitTerms

Gym membership cancellation

How the largest US gym chains describe cancellation, from each chain’s own pages. In person, mail, and online are listed only when that page describes them. Notice, annual fees, early termination, and price are included only when the chain publishes them.

, except Anytime Fitness, which remains the Oct 27, 2026 entry. A repeat read that day returned an interstitial instead of the FAQ, so the entry was not changed.

This page does not cancel a membership and it does not sell one. Open the chain’s entry for the steps, then the chain’s own page.

LA Fitness

LA Fitness's own pages say you can cancel online, by mail and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, Mail, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App, Phone
Notice
See note. The provider's page states: A mailed cancellation form postmarked at least 5 business days before your next billing date should result in no further billings. If notice is postmarked within 5 business days, you may be billed once more. If this occurs, we will refund that additional billing.
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
See note
Annual fee and related charges
Prepaid last month is used after the final recurring dues payment
Price the chain publishes
Not stated
Official sources reviewed

24 Hour Fitness

24 Hour Fitness's own pages say you can cancel online and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App, Phone, Mail
Notice
Not stated
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Annual fee still charged during an approved freeze
Price the chain publishes
Not stated
Official sources reviewed

Anytime Fitness

We have not yet found how Anytime Fitness says to cancel.

Ways the page describes
Not stated
Not stated on the pages we read
Online, App, Phone, Mail, In person
Notice
Not stated
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Not stated
Price the chain publishes
Not stated
Official sources reviewed

Crunch Fitness

Crunch Fitness's own pages say you can cancel online, by phone and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, Phone, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App, Mail
Notice
See note. The provider's page states: The required cancellation notice prior to your next billing date may vary based on the terms of your Membership Agreement.
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Crunch Fitness annual fee varies by club, up to $89; Crunch Signature annual fee timing; Crunch Signature prepaid last month
Price the chain publishes
Crunch Signature annual fee, $89.00 per year
Official sources reviewed

Gold's Gym

Gold's Gym's own pages say you can cancel online, by mail and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, Mail, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App, Phone
Notice
Not stated
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Buyer may cancel before midnight on the fifth business day; Annual fees are drawn on the dates in the membership agreement
Price the chain publishes
Not stated
Official sources reviewed

Equinox

Equinox's own pages say you can cancel online, by phone, by mail and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, Phone, Mail, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App
Notice
Not stated
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Not stated
Price the chain publishes
Not stated
Official sources reviewed

Life Time

Life Time's own pages say you can cancel online and in person.

Ways the page describes
Online, In person
Not stated on the pages we read
App, Phone, Mail
Notice
See note. The provider's page states: If you need to cancel your membership, a notice period is required.
Fee to cancel
Not stated
Early termination or buyout
Not stated
Annual fee and related charges
Reactivating after a suspension has $0 joining fees
Price the chain publishes
Life Time Digital while club access is suspended, $15.00 per month
Official sources reviewed

Not yet reviewed

These are not cancellation instructions. The official page did not load, so nothing below says how to cancel.

State statutes

No state statute is stated on this page. On Oct 31, 2026 the California legislature page and the New York Senate page refused the request, the Florida Senate page did not return the statute, and the Texas statutes page returned a shell without the chapter text. A chain entry does not borrow another state’s rule to fill a blank.

Questions

Where do the gym cancellation facts come from?
Each published entry cites that chain’s own page and shows the date we read it. Official sources reviewed Oct 31, 2026, except Anytime Fitness, which stays the Oct 27, 2026 entry because the FAQ did not load on Oct 31, 2026. If a line says Not stated, the pages we read did not say, and this site does not fill the gap.
Does YMCA have one national cancellation process on this site?
No. On Oct 31, 2026 the YMCA of the USA site did not return a page we could read. Local YMCA associations set their own membership terms. This page does not state how a local Y cancels.
Why is Planet Fitness not an entry?
On Oct 31, 2026 the Planet Fitness customer-service page refused the request. There is no cancellation entry, and this page does not say how to cancel a Planet Fitness membership.
Do these pages rely on a state statute?
No statute is stated here. The California legislature page and the New York Senate page refused the request, the Florida Senate page did not return the statute, and the Texas statutes page returned a shell without the chapter text. Each chain entry cites that chain’s own page.

Remind me before my trial or subscription renews

Request a renewal reminder. Submitting stores that request on this site. This form does not send email.

The full directory is all services. Background on club contracts is in gym membership cancellation basics. Report a correction if a chain’s page has changed.